I should be explaining why I haven’t been particularly active lately.  I should even write up a schedule of future articles I intent to write for my blog to share; I really should.  Instead, I feel compelled to bring to your attention one of the single stupidest things I have ever seen in my life.
I just saw a commercial for Prince of Persia: the Sands of Time, the video game.  Because that begs the question, “why is that so stupid?”, please allow me to explain.  Prince of Persia is a video game (which I played many years ago) that has seen something of a revival (in my opinion anyways) over the last few years.  Of the titles for the game was Prince of Perisa: the Sands of Time.  Then, Jerry Bruckheimer got it in his head to make a movie based on this game.  Now, I won’t say this is a bad idea; I haven’t played the game, so I have no basis for saying that the story wouldn’t translate to screen that well of anything; and on the topic of the movie itself, I am somewhat ambiguous as to whether it will be any good on its own merits or not.  Anyways, back on topic, let me show you how this is dumb: this new game is based on a movie that is based on a video game.  It is nothing more than a blatant and shameless attempt to make more money, at best.  At worst, it might be an attempt to obfuscate the fact that the movie was based on a game in the first place!

You know what the really dumb thing is of course: people will buy this game.  Oh yeah; rather than buy a game, apparently good enough to be made into a movie, they will buy a shameless movie tie-in game.  I feel dumbfounded by the existance of this game; it absolutely confounds me.

